Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Kirtland Community College.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Show All Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Kirtland Community College Library QC 870 .C47 2009 30539214 General Collection Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781591027201 (hardcover : alk. paper) :
  • ISBN: 1591027209 (hardcover : alk. paper) :
  • Physical Description: 328 p., [8] p. of plates : ill. (some col.), maps ... Read More
  • Publisher: Amherst, N.Y. : Prometheus Books, 2009.

Content descriptions

Bibliography, etc. Note:
Includes bibliographical references (p. 301-314) ... Read More
Formatted Contents Note:
What is a weather mystery? -- The mystery of the ... Read More
Subject: Climatic extremes > History.
Climatology > Miscellanea.

Syndetic Solutions - Summary for ISBN Number 9781591027201
Weather's Greatest Mysteries Solved!
Weather's Greatest Mysteries Solved!
by Cerveny, Randy
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

Summary

Weather's Greatest Mysteries Solved!


Why did T-Rex become extinct? Why did the Mayan civilization disappear? If the ancient Israelis did indeed cross the Red Sea, as reported in the Bible, what weather phenomena might have produced the parting of the waters? Why was nearly all human life swept away 73,000 years ago? And what factors created the Great American Dustbowl of the 1930s? The extraordinary people who are interested in asking--and answering--such questions are known as climatologists. In a lively narrative full of intriguing facts, award-winning, internationally known climatologist Randy Cerveny takes the reader on a fascinating tour of some of the world's most perplexing and provocative climate mysteries, past and present. Cerveny explains the science of climate study--from digging ice cores in Antarctica to counting tree rings in Arizona--and the various specialists whose ingenious techniques help to sort out climate's intricate components. He also delves into the human impact of weather through fictional introductions to each chapter that depict how climate change might have affected a typical inhabitant of the ancient Sahara or Indus Valley, a peasant during Europe's "Little Ice Age," or an aviation expert probing a deadly jet crash in New York City. Finally, he discusses research that attempts to forecast the weather of the next 10,000 years--essential information for planning the nuclear waste depository at Yucca Mountain, Nevada. For readers of An Inconvenient Truth, devotees of the Weather Channel, history buffs, popular science fans, or anyone who wonders what makes our weather tick--and how it will impact our future, this engaging book offers much to ponder and to enjoy.

Additional Resources