Search:

Prison violence : causes, consequences, and solutions / by Levan, Kristine.;
Includes bibliographical references (pages 115-142) and index.An introduction to prisons, punishment, and prison violence -- Prison, by the numbers -- Prisons and prison violence in other countries -- Prison violence : explanations and theoretical underpinnings -- The effects of prison violence -- Challenges to understanding the problem -- What is being done? -- The long road ahead : the future of prison violence.
Subjects: Prison violence.;
© ©2012., Ashgate Pub.,
Available copies: 1 / Total copies: 1
unAPI

History of Andersonville Prison / by Futch, Ovid L.;
Includes bibliographical references (p. 133-142) and index.1. The Power to Impress -- 2. Gross Mismanagement -- 3. Prison Conditions -- 4. Prison Life -- 5. The Raiders -- 6. Danger and Dissension -- 7. Medical Care -- 8. Trial and Judgment -- Notes -- Bibliographical Essay -- Index.In February 1864, five hundred Union prisoners of war arrived at the Confederate stockade at Anderson Station, Georgia. Andersonville, as it was later known, would become legendary for its brutality and mistreatment, with the highest mortality rate--over 30 percent--of any Civil War prison. Fourteen months later, 32,000 men were imprisoned there. Most of the prisoners suffered greatly because of poor organization, meager supplies, the Federal government's refusal to exchange prisoners, and the cruelty of men supporting a government engaged in a losing battle for survival. Who was responsible for allowing so much squalor, mismanagement, and waste at Andersonville? Looking for an answer, Ovid Futch cuts through charges and countercharges that have made the camp a subject of bitter controversy. He examines diaries and firsthand accounts of prisoners, guards, and officers, and both Confederate and Federal government records (including the transcript of the trial of Capt. Henry Wirz, the alleged "fiend of Andersonville"). First published in 1968, this groundbreaking volume has never gone out of print.
Subjects: Andersonville Prison.;
© 1999, c1968., University of Florida Press,
Available copies: 1 / Total copies: 1
unAPI

The prison healer : [electronic resource] : The prison healer series, book 1. by Noni, Lynette.; Illidge, Jeanette.;
Narrator: Jeanette Illidge.Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years fighting for survival in the notorious death prison, Zalindov, working as the prison healer. When the Rebel Queen is captured, Kiva is charged with keeping the terminally ill woman alive long enough for her to undergo the Trial by Ordeal: a series of elemental challenges against the torments of air, fire, water, and earth, assigned to only the most dangerous of criminals. Then a coded message from Kiva's family arrives, containing a single order: "Don't let her die. We are coming." Aware that the Trials will kill the sickly queen, Kiva risks her own life to volunteer in her place. If she succeeds, both she and the queen will be granted their freedom. But no one has ever survived. With an incurable plague sweeping Zalindov, a mysterious new inmate fighting for Kiva's heart, and a prison rebellion brewing, Kiva can't escape the terrible feeling that her trials have only just begun. From bestselling author Lynette Noni comes a dark, thrilling YA fantasy perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, and Sabaa Tahir.Requires OverDrive Listen (file size: N/A KB) or OverDrive app (file size: 412490 KB).
Subjects: Electronic books.; Young Adult Fiction.; Fantasy.; Romance.;
© 2021., HarperAudio,
On-line resources: http://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=130119&titleID=6079941 -- Click to access digital title in OverDrive.;
unAPI

America's prisons / by Lasky, Jack.;
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Subjects: Prisons; Imprisonment; Alternatives to imprisonment; Criminals; Criminal justice, Administration of;
Available copies: 1 / Total copies: 1
unAPI

The Scottish prisoner : [electronic resource] : Outlander: Lord John Grey series, book 3. by Gabaldon, Diana.; Woodman, Jeff.;
Narrator: Jeff Woodman.London, 1760. For Jamie Fraser, paroled prisoner-of-war, life is coming apart at the seams. In the remote Lake District, where he’s close enough to the son he cannot claim as his own, Jamie’s quiet existence is interrupted first by dreams of his lost wife, then by the appearance of an erstwhile comrade still fighting to rally the Irish. But Jamie has sworn off politics, fighting, and war. Until Lord John Grey shows up with a summons that will take him away from everything he loves—again. Lord John is in possession of explosive documents that expose a damning case of corruption against a British officer. But they also hint at a more insidious danger. Soon Lord John and Jamie are unwilling companions on the road to Ireland, a country whose dark castles hold dreadful secrets, and whose bogs hide the bones of the dead. -- provided by Amazon.com.Requires OverDrive Listen (file size: N/A KB) or OverDrive app (file size: 444198 KB).
Subjects: Electronic books.; Fiction.; Fantasy.; Historical Fiction.; Romance.;
© 2011., Recorded Books Inc.,
On-line resources: http://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=130119&titleID=669404 -- Click to access digital title in OverDrive.;
unAPI

Indefinite : doing time in jail. by Walker, Michael L.,1952-author.;
Includes bibliographical references and index.Description based on print version record.Electronic reproduction. Ann Arbor, MI : ProQuest, 2018. Available via World Wide Web. Access may be limited to ProQuest affiliated libraries.
Subjects: Electronic books.; Imprisonment.; Jails.; Prisoners.;
On-line resources: https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/kirtland-ebooks/detail.action?docID=6822213 -- Available online. Click here to access.;
unAPI

The reformers : an historical survey of pioneer experiments in the treatment of criminals / by Eriksson, Torsten,1906-1977.;
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Subjects: Corrections; Prisons;
© c1976., Elsevier Scientific Pub. Co.,
Available copies: 1 / Total copies: 1
unAPI

A plague of prisons : the epidemiology of mass incarceration in America / by Drucker, Ernest M.,1940-;
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Subjects: Imprisonment; Imprisonment; Criminal justice, Administration of;
© 2011., New Press : Distributed by Perseus Distribution,
Available copies: 1 / Total copies: 1
unAPI

Prisoner of the state : the secret journal of Zhao Ziyang / by Zhao, Ziyang.; Bao, Pu,1967?-; Chiang, Renee.; Ignatius, Adi.; MacFarquhar, Roderick.;
The Tiananmen massacre. The student protests begin ; An editorial makes things worse ; Power struggle ; The crackdown ; The accusations fly ; The campaign against Zhao ; Zhao's talk with Gorbachev -- House arrest. Zhao becomes a prisoner ; The investigative report ; Zhao's lonely struggle -- The roots of China's economic boom. Conflicting views at the top ; An early setback ; Opening painfully to the world ; Finding a new approach ; Zhao and Hu clash ; Playing a trick on a rival ; One step at a time ; The economy gets too hot ; The magic of free trade ; Freedom on the farm ; The coastal regions take off ; Coping with corruption -- War in the Politburo. Hu Yaobang "resigns" ; Zhao walks the line ; The ideologues ; Preparing for the main event -- A tumultuous year. After the Congress ; Panic buying and bank runs ; A series of missteps ; The problem with prices ; Reforms take a hit ; Zhao in retreat ; The campaign to overthrow Zhao -- How China must change. Deng's view on political reform ; Hu's view on political reform ; How Zhao's view evolved ; The old guard fights back ; The way forward -- A brief biography of Zhao Ziyang.Gives readers a front row seat to the secret inner workings of China's government. It is the story of Premier Zhao Ziyang, who tried to stop the Tiananmen Square massacre in 1989, and was dethroned for his efforts.
Subjects: Zhao, Ziyang.; Prime ministers; Political prisoners; Statesmen; Zhao, Ziyang.; Premiers ministres; Prisonniers politiques; Hommes d'EÌtat;
© 2009., Simon & Schuster,
Available copies: 1 / Total copies: 1
unAPI

My prison, my home : one woman's story of captivity in Iran / by Isfandiyārī, Hālāh.;
On December 31, 2006, Isfandiyārī's life changed. It was believed she was part of an American conspiracy for "regime change" in Iran. After weeks of interrogation, she was detained at the notorious Evin Prison, where she spent 105 days in solitary confinement.The "robbery" -- An Iranian childhood -- A career interrupted -- The interrogation -- "Things will get worse" -- The lull -- The arrest -- Evin Prison -- The release -- Freedom -- Epilogue.
Subjects: Isfandiyārī, Hālāh.; Women political prisoners; Political prisoners; Iranian American women; Iranian American authors; Islam and politics;
© c2009., Ecco,
Available copies: 1 / Total copies: 1
unAPI