Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1

The stranger in the woods : the extraordinary ... Read More

Finkel, Michael.(Author).

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Kirtland Community College.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Kirtland Community College Library CT 9991 .K65 F56 2017 30775305521057 General Collection Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781101875681
  • ISBN: 1101875682
  • Physical Description: print
    203 pages : illustrations, maps ; 22 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Alfred A. Knopf, [2017]

Content descriptions

General Note:
"This is a Borzoi book"--Title page verso.
Summary, etc.:
"For readers of Jon Krakauer and The Lost City of ... Read More
Subject: Knight, Christopher Thomas 1965-
Hermits Maine Smithfield Region Biography
Recluses Maine Smithfield Region Biography
Thieves Maine Smithfield Region Biography
Smithfield Region (Me.) Biography
Survival Case studies
Solitude Case studies
Genre: Biographies.
LDR 03647cam a2200589 i 4500
00145304
003KCCL
00520170503190102.0
008160713s2017 nyuab 000 0beng
010 . ‡a 2016029910
035 . ‡a(OCoLC)ocn951753785
040 . ‡aDLC ‡beng ‡erda ‡cDLC ‡dYDXCP ‡dBTCTA ‡dBDX ‡dGK8 ‡dMZC ‡dON8 ‡dNBO ‡dIK2 ‡dYDX ‡dIGA ‡dAPL ‡dSBRWN ‡dMWD ‡dTXLCL ‡dTXMAL ‡dNDS ‡dLMR ‡dOCLCO ‡dET8
019 . ‡a973794046
020 . ‡a9781101875681
020 . ‡a1101875682
0291 . ‡aAU@ ‡b000058529182
035 . ‡a(OCoLC)951753785 ‡z(OCoLC)973794046
042 . ‡apcc
043 . ‡an-us-me
05000. ‡aCT9991.K65 ‡bF56 2017
08200. ‡a974.1/22043092 ‡aB ‡223
049 . ‡aET8A ‡c1
1001 . ‡aFinkel, Michael.
24514. ‡aThe stranger in the woods : ‡bthe extraordinary story of the last true hermit / ‡cMichael Finkel.
250 . ‡aFirst edition.
264 1. ‡aNew York : ‡bAlfred A. Knopf, ‡c[2017]
300 . ‡a203 pages : ‡billustrations, maps ; ‡c22 cm
336 . ‡atext ‡btxt ‡2rdacontent
337 . ‡aunmediated ‡bn ‡2rdamedia
338 . ‡avolume ‡bnc ‡2rdacarrier
500 . ‡a"This is a Borzoi book"--Title page verso.
5202 . ‡a"For readers of Jon Krakauer and The Lost City of Z, a remarkable tale of survival and solitude--the true story of a man who lived alone in a tent in the Maine woods, never talking to another person and surviving by stealing supplies from nearby cabins for twenty-seven years. In 1986, twenty-year-old Christopher Knight left his home in Massachusetts, drove to Maine, and disappeared into the woods. He would not have a conversation with another human being until nearly three decades later when he was arrested for stealing food. Living in a tent even in winter, he had survived by his wits and courage, developing ingenious ways to store food and water, to avoid freezing to death. He broke into nearby cottages for food, clothes, reading material, and other provisions, taking only what he needed, but terrifying a community never able to solve the mysterious burglaries. Based on extensive interviews with Knight himself, this is a vividly detailed account of the why and how of his secluded life--as well as the challenges he has faced returning to the world. A riveting story of survival that asks fundamental questions about solitude, community, and what makes a good life, and a deeply moving portrait of a man who was determined to live his own way, and succeeded"--Publisher description.
60010. ‡aKnight, Christopher Thomas, ‡d1965-
650 0. ‡aHermits ‡zMaine ‡zSmithfield Region ‡vBiography.
650 0. ‡aRecluses ‡zMaine ‡zSmithfield Region ‡vBiography.
650 0. ‡aThieves ‡zMaine ‡zSmithfield Region ‡vBiography.
651 0. ‡aSmithfield Region (Me.) ‡vBiography.
650 0. ‡aSurvival ‡vCase studies.
650 0. ‡aSolitude ‡vCase studies.
655 7. ‡aBiographies. ‡2lcgft
77608. ‡iOnline version: ‡aFinkel, Michael, author. ‡tStranger in the woods ‡bFirst edition. ‡dNew York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2017 ‡z9781101875698 ‡w(DLC) 2016037679
938 . ‡aBrodart ‡bBROD ‡n117104426
938 . ‡aBaker and Taylor ‡bBTCP ‡nBK0018979513
938 . ‡aYBP Library Services ‡bYANK ‡n13036308
994 . ‡aC0 ‡bET8
905 . ‡u191974
901 . ‡aocn951753785 ‡bOCoLC ‡c45304 ‡tbiblio ‡soclc
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1

Additional Resources