Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1

The stranger in the woods : the extraordinary ... Read More

Finkel, Michael.(Author).

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Kirtland Community College.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Kirtland Community College Library CT 9991 .K65 F56 2017 30775305521057 General Collection Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781101875681
  • ISBN: 1101875682
  • Physical Description: print
    203 pages : illustrations, maps ; 22 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Alfred A. Knopf, [2017]

Content descriptions

General Note:
"This is a Borzoi book"--Title page verso.
Summary, etc.:
"For readers of Jon Krakauer and The Lost City of ... Read More
Subject: Knight, Christopher Thomas 1965-
Hermits Maine Smithfield Region Biography
Recluses Maine Smithfield Region Biography
Thieves Maine Smithfield Region Biography
Smithfield Region (Me.) Biography
Survival Case studies
Solitude Case studies
Genre: Biographies.

Syndetic Solutions - Summary for ISBN Number 9781101875681
The Stranger in the Woods : The Extraordinary Story of the Last True Hermit
The Stranger in the Woods : The Extraordinary Story of the Last True Hermit
by Finkel, Michael
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

Summary

The Stranger in the Woods : The Extraordinary Story of the Last True Hermit


Many people dream of escaping modern life, but most will never act on it. This is the remarkable true story of a man who lived alone in the woods of Maine for 27 years, making this dream a reality--not out of anger at the world, but simply because he preferred to live on his own. A New York Times bestseller In 1986, a shy and intelligent twenty-year-old named Christopher Knight left his home in Massachusetts, drove to Maine, and disappeared into the forest. He would not have a conversation with another human being until nearly three decades later, when he was arrested for stealing food. Living in a tent even through brutal winters, he had survived by his wits and courage, developing ingenious ways to store edibles and water, and to avoid freezing to death. He broke into nearby cottages for food, clothing, reading material, and other provisions, taking only what he needed but terrifying a community never able to solve the mysterious burglaries. Based on extensive interviews with Knight himself, this is a vividly detailed account of his secluded life--why did he leave? what did he learn?--as well as the challenges he has faced since returning to the world. It is a gripping story of survival that asks fundamental questions about solitude, community, and what makes a good life, and a deeply moving portrait of a man who was determined to live his own way, and succeeded.
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1

Additional Resources