Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Kirtland Community College.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Kirtland Community College Library HE 9713 .W69 2014 30775305483621 General Collection Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781595589637 (paperback)
  • ISBN: 1595589635 (paperback)
  • ISBN: 9781595589682 (e-book)
  • Physical Description: print
    296 pages ; 21 cm
  • Publisher: New York : New Press, The, 2014.

Content descriptions

Bibliography, etc. Note: Includes bibliographical references (pages 261-279) and index.
Formatted Contents Note: From the Simon to the Blackberry -- Apple, Google, Microsoft and Samsung -- The smartphone wars -- Assembling a smartphone -- Waste: Money and trash -- Health -- Privacy -- Looking toward the future.
Summary, etc.: "We think we know everything about our smartphones. We use them constantly. We depend on them for every conceivable purpose. We are familiar with every inch of their compact frames. But there is more to the smartphone than meets the eye. How have smartphones shaped the way we socialize and interact? Who tracks our actions, our preferences, our movements as recorded by our smartphones? These are just some of the questions that journalist Elizabeth Woyke answers in this muckraking expose; of the $241 billion industry that produces more than 700 million devices each year. In the tradition of The Coffee Book, The Sneaker Book, Oil, and Cigarettes, The Smartphone offers not only a step-by-step guide to how smartphones are designed and manufactured but also a bold exploration of the darker side of this massive industry, including the exploitation of labor, the disposal of electronic waste, and the underground networks that hack and smuggle smartphones. Featuring interviews with key figures in the development of the smartphone and expert assessments of the industry's main players--Apple, Google, Microsoft, and Samsung--The Smartphone is the perfect introduction to this most personal of gadgets. Your smartphone will never look the same again. "--
Subject: Smartphones
Cell phones
Telecommunication
Electronic industries
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1

Additional Resources