Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1

The all-girl filling station's last reunion : a novel

Flagg, Fannie (author.).

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Kirtland Community College.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Kirtland Community College Library PS 3556 .L26 A45 2013 30775305463482 General Collection Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781400065943 (hardback : alkaline paper)
  • ISBN: 1400065941 (hardback : alkaline paper)
  • ISBN: 9780812994636 (ebook)
  • Physical Description: print
    347 pages ; 25 cm
  • Edition: First Edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Random House, [2013]

Content descriptions

Bibliography, etc. Note: Includes bibliographical references and index.
Summary, etc.: Spanning decades, generations, and America in the 1940s and today, this novel is a fun-loving mystery about an Alabama woman today, and five women who in 1943 worked in a Phillips 66 gas station, during the WWII years. Mrs. Sookie Poole of Point Clear, Alabama, has just married off the last of her three daughters and is looking forward to relaxing and perhaps traveling with her husband, Earle. The only thing left to contend with now is her mother, the formidable and imposing Lenore Simmons Krackenberry, never an easy task. Lenore may be a lot of fun for other people, but is, for the most part, an overbearing presence for her daughter. Then one day, quite by accident, Sookie discovers a shocking secret about her mother's past that knocks her for a loop and suddenly calls into question everything she ever thought she knew about herself, her family, and her future. This is a riveting, fun story of two families, set in both present day America and during World War II, filled with the author's trademark funny voice and storytelling magic. -- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Women Fiction
Female friendship Fiction
Family secrets Fiction
Service stations Fiction
Genre: Humorous stories, American.
Domestic fiction, American.
Historical fiction, American.
Detective and mystery stories, American.

Syndetic Solutions - BookList Review for ISBN Number 9781400065943
The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion : A Novel
The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion : A Novel
by Flagg, Fannie
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

BookList Review

The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion : A Novel

Booklist


From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.

Aging daughter of the South Sookie Simmons Poole has trudged along cheerfully through life under the shadow of her overbearing mother, Lenore. Faced with empty-nest syndrome, Sookie knows she won't be too bored, since Lenore lives right next door and still has her mail delivered to Sookie's house. When a mysterious letter arrives, Sookie questions everything she ever knew about her family, and her story soon dovetails with that of a proud Polish family from Wisconsin. The Jurdabralinskis' gas station was nearly shuttered when all the area men joined up during WWII, but the family's four girls bravely stepped up. Eldest daughter Fritzi was already a great mechanic, having been a professional stunt plane pilot in the 1930s. When Fritzi joins the WASPS, an elite but downplayed female branch of the U.S. Air Force, the story really comes to life. Flagg's storytelling talent is on full display. Her trademark quirky characters are warm and realistic, and the narrative switches easily between the present and the past. HIGH DEMAND BACKSTORY: Flagg's fans won't be disappointed in this one, and there's a lot to be said for giving tribute to the real-life WASPs (the official records of the force were classified and sealed for nearly 35 years). Great possibilities for nonfiction pairings abound for book clubs.--Vnuk, Rebecca Copyright 2010 Booklist

Syndetic Solutions - Publishers Weekly Review for ISBN Number 9781400065943
The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion : A Novel
The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion : A Novel
by Flagg, Fannie
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

Publishers Weekly Review

The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion : A Novel

Publishers Weekly


Structured much like Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe, Flagg's latest novel alternates between the pedestrian life of Sookie Poole, a timid middle-aged southern woman and that of her brash, adventurous ancestry, a quartet of polish sisters who ran a filling station and flew planes during WWII. The cataclysmic event that unites these narratives is Sookie's discovery that she was adopted. Her journey into the history of her biological family is excruciatingly slow, but the history-particularly of the WASPs, a division of all-female pilots who flew support missions for the Air Force and were written promptly out of history after the war ended proves more entertaining and helps redeem the plot. The language is accessible and much of the backstory is delivered via letters, rendering the voices of the characters authentic, even if they are a bit stock-the archetypal aging southern lady heroine, for example, has a wacky new-age best friend, an overbearing mother, and a Yankee psychiatrist. Readers looking for nuance will not find it here, but there are plot twists, adventure, heartbreak, and familial love in spades, making this the kind of story that keeps readers turning pages in a fever. (Nov.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Syndetic Solutions - Library Journal Review for ISBN Number 9781400065943
The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion : A Novel
The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion : A Novel
by Flagg, Fannie
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

Library Journal Review

The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion : A Novel

Library Journal


(c) Copyright Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Southern charmer Flagg's (Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe) latest work follows two women, decades apart, as they find themselves and, ultimately, each other. Sookie Poole has just married off her last daughter and now only has to deal with her overbearing mother. When Sookie accidentally discovers a secret about her past that her mother has kept from her, she begins a journey of discovery. Decades earlier, groundbreaking Fritzi takes off on her own adventure, one that will one day intertwine with events in Sookie's life. Flagg narrates this story of humor, love, and heartbreak, and readers who stick with the slow start will be delighted with the way the story develops. VERDICT Suggested for fans of Flagg, Sue Monk Kidd, and Rebecca Wells. ["Yet again, Flagg...delivers a book full of heartwarming charm that is sure to provoke lighthearted laughter. A complex story told simply and honestly," read the review of the Random hc, LJ 11/1/13.]-Donna Bachowski, Orange Cty. Lib. Syst., Orlando, FL (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1

Additional Resources